Chia Seed Jam – or a cheats version of the sweet stuff!

 

 I love a little kitchen experimenting – particularly when working with novel ingredients with unusual abilities.

I will explain.

First things first- you don’t NEED to buy lots of novel ingredients in order to live a nourished life. Indeed gimmicky foods with high price tags have usually got large marketing bucks behind them, compelling us to buy into a certain form of health.

That being said, when I was given a bag of chia seeds , I wasn’t going to waste them and I also knew that these mini seeds had an array of benefits.

My Top Three FAVOURITE things about chia:

– Chia seeds have the highest levels of omega-3 fats out of any other plant source.

– 100g of chia has as much calcium as two cups of milk (that being said, 100g of chia seeds is ALOT!) still…it puts it into perspective!

–  Chia seeds are also a high source of dietary fibre. 

In reference to chia’s unusual abilities – I find it rather novel that it jells up in minutes if added to water. 

And it got me thinking about how I could use it.

Where most people suggest, just adding it to cereal.

I question ones ability to actually digest microscopic seeds.

Which is why I turned it into a fruity jelly concoction of sorts.

ANd named it JAM.

And served it to unknowing guests who were none the wiser.

And it went down without question.

I’d go as far to say that it went down rather well.

So without further ado – here is a chia jam recipe, sweetened with stevia, full of fibre, nourishing fats and a dash of vanilla powder, because it tastes so good.

CHIA JAM

Ingredients:

3 cups raspberries

1 tsp of Liquid Stevia

2 tbsp chia seeds

1/2 tsp pure vanilla powder (Loving Earth has a beautiful one! )

 

1. In a pot, bring the raspberries and stevia to a low simmer. Stir frequently to prevent the raspberries from sticking to the bottom of the pan and simmer for a few minutes until fruit has softened. Lightly mash the raspberries with a fork. Feel free to leave a few lumps for texture. Up to you.

2. Turn off the heat and stir in the chia seeds and vanilla powder. Leave the pot and let sit for 20 minutes. The jam should naturally thicken. If you are feeding fussy kids, blitz the mixture with a stick blender.

3. Once the jam is thick- taste to ensure you like the sweetness then place in an old jam jar and whack it in the fridge. I love this over my home made buckwheat bread or straight up with a spoon! The jam should keep for at least a week in your fridge.

Next time, I think I will try making some ginger and apple jam….YUM!

 

6 thoughts on “Chia Seed Jam – or a cheats version of the sweet stuff!

  1. This sounds very interesting indeed. I have yet to experiment with chia seeds but have been giving it a lot of thought. I am going to copy this recipe down and experiement with other fruits. Thank you.

    • Chia seeds are amazing, but you need to find a good fresh source. I had a batch that made me ill, perhaps mouldy? Or maybe I was eating too many? Not sure but I was eating a lot of them, puddings etc… And I’ve never heard of people having a reaction to them but I’m more cautious now (and less *piggy), and I’ve found some good organic ones from Loving Earth. This is an amazing recipe though!

  2. Very cool idea Miss Holly! Love your attention to detail – i.e. proper absorption of chia nutrients (an issue I often encounter is people proudly sprinkling them dry over granola or salads – need to be wet & jelly-like y’all!)

Leave a Reply

